Posted by: instanthausfrau | April 22, 2006

Confessions of a Mildly Hip Mama

Just got word that I am now a Crazy-Hip Blog Mama. While my proportions are a bit off (I’m a lot crazy and perhaps only mildly hip), I am honored that the judges could overlook that and add me to such distinguished company. Thanks, Mamas!

But now, I feel I must confess. You see, when I started this blog, I did it for a couple of reasons. Firstly, being the first in my group of friends to have small children, I wanted to try and provide for others what I had wanted: a friend with some knowledge about what’s available for children in the Seattle area. My secondary reasons were much more selfish. I hoped that with complete anonymity, I would be able to talk freely about my issues with post- and pre-partum depression. ‘Cause blogging? Much cheaper than therapy.

But I’m finding that despite the blog’s reputation of being all about mememe, I just can’t do it. I had hoped the relative anonymity of blogging here, without the knowledge of my friends or family, would allow me to talk pretty freely about depression issues. I thought without that audience of folks who care about me, who know me, I wouldn’t have to worry and guilt over hurting them by being hurt. I seem to have thought wrong. I can’t seem to get over this new case of the shys.

Instead, I find myself making an attempt to answer the parenting magazines that tell me to put the number of my $300/hr Baby Yoga Class in my Blackberry. What parent can afford that? If you can, I so need to set up a Paypal link on here.

So here’s to you, parents. I hope to be your friend who’s been there, who can point you to cheap and/or affordable living or vacationing with children in Puget Sound, as much as that oxymoron is possible.

Responses

  1. I hope that you still feel free to say what’s on your mind, especially about something so important that impacts so many women. I don’t know your story exactly, but I would imagine there’s little you could say that would make anyone feel anything but sympathy. Even so, we’re open to whatever else you have to write–welcome to the CHBM!

  2. Thanks for the warm welcome — I am very in love with your blog, so I’m rather tickled that you read some of mine. It’s not that I’m worried about the reactions of strangers, more that I think I’ve come to the conclusion that nothing I have to say hasn’t already been said. And I do so hate whining. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

