Posted by: instanthausfrau | September 27, 2006

Seven Star Women’s Kung-Fu Saved My Life.

Seven Star Women’s Kung-Fu is Seattle’s own non-profit feminist martial arts school, offering classes for women in Kajukembo (the first American martial art, created in Hawaii in the 1940s) under the direction of sifu Michelle McVadon. Founded in 1981 by Anne Moon, the school is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year with a weekend of workshops and demonstrations. But the most important things for Moms to know about this place is this: they offer free childcare to students.

That’s right, free childcare. As a feminist organization, they want to enable as many woman as possible to train. This means that in addition to helping moms get involved by caring for their kids, the organization offers a sliding fee scale and has scholarships available to those in need. Plus, they perform in the Pride Parade. What more can you ask from your local martial arts school?

Potential new students can check out the “Try a Class Night” this Thursday, September 28th, from 7:30-9pm (call 206. 720.1046 to let them know you’re coming), and the next 8 week beginners cycle starts on October 3rd.

While I keep skirting the subject of Post-Partum Depression here, and have about 5 drafts on the subject that I can’t seem to finish, I can tell you that the best (and hardest) thing I did to combat it was to get out of the house and into a class that got me moving. The title is not an exageration here. I looked at other options (Mother-baby yoga? Too granola. Plus, the baby keeps leaving her mat to go harass other babies. Punk-rock Yoga? How awesome. But nowhere for the baby. Drat. You see where this is going), and Seven Star had enough of the right things going for it to work for me. Maybe it will for you to?

Seven Star Women’s Kung-Fu

Next Beginners Cycle starts October 3rd.

525 21st Ave.
Seattle, WA 98122
206.720.1046
sevenstarwomen@yahoo.com

$130.00 for 8-week beginners cycle (without any scholarship ort , or take the basic women’s self defence class on Saturday, September 30th from 3pm-5pm for $15.00.

Responses

  1. This sounds great, and timely since I’ve been thinking of enrolling, along with my daughters, in some sort of self-defense course.

    (Punk rock yoga? I think I’ll pass.)

  2. I took Tae Kwon Do in middle and high school, which did a lot for my self-confidence and just got me moving. My mom started taking the classes too, and it ended up being good bonding time. Highly recommended.


Leave a Reply

Categories

