Posted by: instanthausfrau | July 6, 2009

On Breastfeeding

My friend Seana is my new hero. She wrote the following:

I went to the pool again and I brought a copy of the IL Right to Breastfeeding Act. I was approached by another lifeguard who said no breastfeeding at the pool “because the baby might poop.” I told him that IL law said differently, so he called over the manager who agreed that I could breastfeed all I want and wasn’t I brave to whip it out in public like that. Hope they’re done asking me to stop nursing my kids.

It takes a certain kind of brave to breastfeed in public, and even more to stand up for doing so in the face of opposition. (Those wondering about Washington Laws, take note: Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.88.010 (2001) states that the act of breastfeeding or expressing breast milk is not indecent exposure. (HB 1590), & 2009 Wash. Laws, Chap. 164 (HB 1596) provides that it is the right of a mother to breastfeed her child in any place of public resort, accommodations, assemblage, or amusement. ).

Hope everyone had a wonderful 4th — I found myself surprised by the number of fireworks displays our neighbors put on, and could see quit a few from my spot on Couch Arrest (the bed rest policy in my current pregnancy continues, and while I’m glad to have made it to 30 weeks, I’m going moderately insane).

Responses

  1. Good for your friend! Nursing should be done whenever and wherever the baby and mama need to do it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

